Since I was young, I have been a firm believer of truth, justice, and fairness. It is as if they are intertwined with my DNA. Throughout my life, I have not been able to tolerate or approve of something that’s not true, or fair. Especially if it involves and affects not only my life, but also the lives of people who are very important to me.

I didn’t know then why I had such strong belief in these virtues. As a child, all I knew was that I would not want to say something that is literally not true, or pretend that I am someone who I really am not, or hide something  that’s supposed to be known by the people around me. The only thing is, as I grew older and held firmly to this belief, I noticed that there are people who misinterpret me for doing so– and I am left with disbelief that some people just hate the truth.

So at one point I questioned my so-called virtues. Is it wrong to be truthful? Is it abominable to stand for what is just and fair? Is it condemning to tell the truth and abhor lies? Why do people love having two faces? Why do they seem to find favor in foolishness and pretensions? Why do they choose falsehood over truth?

Those questions lingered in my mind. They still do. I have always been thinking how come people manage to live in lies for the sake of fulfilling their own selfish desires. That’s it, my own words gave me away- it’s because of selfishness.

But don’t get me wrong. I am not trying to be hypocritical. I am also not perfect and I have my own flaws. I have my own downsides and ugliness within. It is said in the Bible in Romans 3:23 that,

Everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.

Truthfully, no one is exempted in falling short of the standards of God, for He is perfect. We all have sinned against Him, for He is the only one who’s righteous.

But this does not mean that we can continue sinning just because we know we aren’t perfect. We cannot simply justify our wrongdoings for the sake of gratifying our selfish desires.

God has given us the freedom to live by granting us our free will, but freedom is rather a responsibility. All too often, we misunderstand the freedom as a license to do anything and everything we want. But the truth is, God has given us the freedom from sin, not the freedom to sin. Jesus Christ died for us to atone our sins and save us from eternal damnation- all because God loves us that much and He never wants us to perish. In 2 Peter 3:9, this truth is being demonstrated:

The Lord isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent.

When you have the love of God within you, you cannot and will not be able to stand sinning against Him, for love is greater than wickedness. When you have truly made Jesus as Lord over your life, your heart will be automatically changed, your perspective will broaden and your faith will grow. In 2 Corinthians 5:17, another precious truth is written:

This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!

In the same way, those who continue to walk with the Lord would always seek to do what pleases Him because their hearts belong to Him.

Anyone who continues to live in him will not sin. But anyone who keeps on sinning does not know him or understand who he is. (1 John 3:6)

God knows our hearts and its motives. He knows its every desire and dream. It is best to stay honest and open to Him because He knows what we want to say before we even say it (Matthew 6:8).

What sorrow awaits those who try to hide their plans from the LORD, who do their evil deeds in the dark! ‘The LORD can’t see us,’ they say. ‘He doesn’t know what’s going on!’ How foolish can you be? He is the Potter, and he is certainly greater than you, the clay! Should the created thing say of the one who made it, ‘He didn’t make me’? Does a jar ever say, ‘The potter who made me is stupid’? (Isaiah 29:15-16)

 

When you know who really God is in your life, you would only seek to glorify Him in all you do because His love can change hearts and His words can change lives in ways that only He can do. God is a God of truth and justice. He commands us to live in the light and not in darkness, because He is light (1 John 1:5).

Let us all be careful in choosing our own path. We do not live for ourselves only. As a wise old woman told us once, “(You) don’t tell lies. It is better to tell the truth right from the start to avoid pain in the end. That’s what I always told my children.”

Sure enough, our Heavenly Father desires the same. Or should I say, He desires what’s good for us more greatly than anyone does. He wants us to live a life full of love, freedom, justice, and peace. And yes, that is the truth.

Leave a Reply

